Owsley County added to FEMA qualified areas for assistance today


Another eastern Kentucky County has now been approved for FEMA assistance. Owsley County has now been added to the list of significantly impacted areas.

Individuals and households in Owsley County can apply for FEMA Individual Assistance, which may include temporary housing assistance, basic home repairs and certain other uninsured disaster-related needs.

This county joins Breathitt, Clay, Floyd, Knott, Letcher, Perry and Pike counties, which were previously approved for Individual Assistance.

Survivors in the designated counties can apply online at disasterassistance.gov, by calling 800-621-3362, or by using the FEMA mobile app. If you use a relay service, such as video relay (VRS), captioned telephone or other service, give FEMA the number for that service. When you apply, you will need to provide:

  • A current phone number where you can be contacted.
  • Your address at the time of the disaster and the address where you are now staying.
  • Your Social Security Number.
  • A general list of damage and losses.
  • Banking information if you choose direct deposit.
  • If insured, the policy number or the agent and/or the company name.

Owsley County had previously been designated in the major disaster declaration authorizing Public Assistance emergency protective measures, including Direct Federal Assistance. 

Tell us what you think