Clays Ferry Traffic Woes to Continue Until Fall


The road work that has caused recent traffic woes on and near the Clays Ferry Bridge on Interstate-75 will now be set to continue around the clock. The project is expected to last until Thursday, October 7th.

Two lanes will remain open and two lanes will be closed in each direction for the duration of the project. The speed limit will be reduced to 55 miles per hour with double fines in effect.

The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet suggests an alternate route of Interstate 64 to KY 627 to bypass the work zone.

Full release:

The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet (KYTC) advises motorists that this advisory serves as an update for the Clays Ferry Bridge on Interstate 75 Southbound. Temporary lane closures are necessary for bridge deck overlay work. Both sides of the bridge (north and southbound) will be addressed.

Operations are now in effect 24 hours a day, including weekend work. Two separate shifts of crews are on duty. The anticipated date for completion is Thursday, October 7. The Clays Ferry Bridge (H520-034-B00153N) is located on the Fayette-Madison County line.

Interstate 75 – Southbound


  • operations are located between milepoints 97.541 and 97.703
  • traffic control (closures/barrels) will be in place between milepoints 96.9 and 98.3
  • two lanes remain open at all times — this includes shifts onto the shoulder
  • weekend work is now included
  • the speed limit is reduced to 55 MPH with double fines in effect

Monday, August 9 through Thursday, October 7

  • work is in effect 24 hours a day, including weekends with two shifts of crews:
  • 6:00 a.m. until 12 a.m. (midnight)
  • 12 a.m. (midnight) until 6 a.m.
  • two lanes are open and two lanes are closed in each direction
  • operations are located on the southbound side until Labor Day — work will move to the northbound side

Alternate Route:

  • motorists can utilize Interstate 64 to KY 627 to bypass the work zone

The traveling public should continue to plan for and expect delays.

All work/closures are scheduled on a tentative basis, and subject to change depending on weather conditions, emergencies, and other factors beyond the control of the Department of Highways.

District 7 includes:  Anderson, Bourbon, Boyle, Clark, Fayette, Garrard, Jessamine, Madison, Mercer, Montgomery, Scott, and Woodford Counties