KSP Honors 62 Troopers During Annual Achievement Awards

From left to right, Detective of the Year, Michael Robichaud; Officer of the Year, Mark Puckett; Trooper of the Year, Jerry Baker; Public Affairs Officer of the Year, Shane Jacobs; Facility Security Officer of the Year Rick Kuiper, and Arson Investigator of the Year Terry Scott.

On Thursday, Kentucky State Police held the annual achievement awards ceremony in Lexington to honor 62 troopers and officers who put on a uniform each day to patrol Kentucky’s neighborhoods with a mission of serving and protecting their fellow citizens.

Due to the coronavirus pandemic, last year’s ceremony was postponed until it was safe to hold an in-person event in accordance with Healthy at Work and CDC guidelines. The achievement awards presented were for acts of service that occurred during 2019.

On behalf of Gov. Andy Beshear, Secretary of the Executive Cabinet J. Michael Brown attended the event to thank the award recipients for their valiant service to the commonwealth and protection of all Kentuckians. KSP Commissioner Phillip Burnett, Jr. also spoke during the ceremony praising the agency’s personnel for going above the call of duty and placing service above self.

Seven troopers were awarded the KSP Citation for Bravery, an honor bestowed on officers of the agency who perform acts of bravery, without regard for personal risk despite clear and obvious peril, and clearly above and beyond the call or risk of ordinary duty.

Five troopers received the Lifesaving Medal, which is awarded to officers who perform life-saving acts under extraordinary circumstances.

Three troopers received the Guthrie Crowe Award, which is named in honor of the first commissioner of KSP and bestowed upon officers of the agency who sustain a severe wound or injury during the performance of their law enforcement duty.

Eighteen troopers were named Detective of the Year at the post, branch or division level. Twenty troopers were named Trooper of the Year at the post, branch or division level. Three Commercial Vehicle Enforcement officers were named Officer of the Year at the regional level.