Madison County Residents Can Visit Driver Licensing Regional Offices for Licensing Needs


The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet (KYTC) operated Driver Licensing Regional Offices is the new home for driver licensing services for Madison County residents. The new regional model is to be phased statewide by June 30, 2022. The Office of Circuit Court Clerk in Madison County no longer serves as the application site to request operator licenses, learner permits, or state identification cards.

Across the Commonwealth, driver licensing services offered by circuit court clerks in the Judicial Branch will gradually transfer to KYTC’s new network of Driver Licensing Regional Offices. Instead of visiting the Office of Circuit Court Clerk, residents will visit ANY Driver Licensing Regional Office to apply for or renew driver licenses, permits, commercial driver licenses (CDLs), and ID cards. Regional offices offer all credentials in either a standard or REAL ID card version. REAL ID versions meet federal requirements to board U.S. commercial flights, enter military bases or enter federal buildings that require ID once REAL ID enforcement starts May 3, 2023. To schedule an appointment at a regional office, visit Walk-in customers are also welcome.

KYTC Driver Licensing Regional Offices are open Monday-Friday from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Only debit and credit cards are accepted (no cash or check) at this time.

Driver Licensing Regional Offices are located in a number of counties including Frankfort, Lexington, Richmond, Somerset, Jackson, Morehead.

Other counties having already made the transition include, Breathitt, Fayette, Franklin, McCreary, Pulaski, Rowan, and Woodford.

Counties transitioning this month will include Lee, Owsley, Rockcastle, and Wolfe counties. The Office of Circuit Court Clerk in each of those counties will cease nearly all in-person driver licensing services on Monday, June 28.

Circuit court clerks will temporarily continue to process card renewal or replacement requests submitted remotely by standard-issue cardholders whose credential expires on or before June 30, 2021. This option only applies to applicants who have not had a change of address or name and do not require driver testing performed by the Kentucky State Police. Information about the remote renewal process can be found here.

REAL IDs must be requested in person and cannot be renewed remotely through the Circuit Court Clerks’ temporary mail-in renewal program. 

Kentuckians who require driver testing (primarily first-time cardholders) must successfully do so with the Kentucky State Police before applying at a licensing office.

Kentucky State Police will continue to oversee all permit and license driver testing. Testing locations and information on how to schedule a written or driving test is available at