KYTC District 7 Personnel continue to clear routes


The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet (KYTC) advises motorists to continue utilizing caution while driving.  District 7 forces worked overnight and continue to patrol and treat routes as necessary for the 12 counties in the district.

Protect yourself in an emergency

Kentucky has a Quick Clearance Law (KRS 189.580) meaning:

If you are involved in a crash –

  • if no one is visibly injured, move your vehicle to the shoulder or off of the interstate or parkway
  • call the police
  • exchange information with the other party

If you have a disabled vehicle –

  • move your vehicle off the roadway if possible
  • turn on emergency flashers
  • to request aid — tie something white or bright to your antenna or window or raise the hood
  • if  you are unable to move your vehicle from the roadway — stand away from the vehicle
  • keep your arms and legs moving to stay warm

To avoid carbon monoxide poisoning if trapped in snow — keep the exhaust pipe clear. Run your vehicle with the windows partially open and use the heat for 10 minutes every hour.

Forecast from the National Weather Service:

Visit this link for information about state snow removal efforts:

District 7 includes Anderson, Bourbon, Boyle, Clark, Fayette, Garrard, Jessamine, Madison, Mercer, Montgomery, Scott, and Woodford Counties