The Oldest Team In Baseball Gets Their First Cy Young Award Winner


Trevor Bauer wins the 2020 National League Cy Young Award.

The Cincinnati Reds started playing baseball in 1876 making them the oldest team in Major League baseball. The Reds have five World Series wins, Nine National League Pennants, Seven National League West Division titles, Three National League Central Division titles, and a pair of Wild Card berths. They lay claim to forty two Hall Of Famers who played part or all of their career for the Reds. The Reds have had Eleven Most valuable Players but never had a Cy Young Winner until this season.

The Cy Young Award was first handed out in 1956 as a league wide award and in 1967 the First National League Award was awarded. Cincinnati has had five pitchers finish second in Cy Young voting with Johnny Cueto being the latest in 2014. Only one other Reds pitcher has ever received a first place vote and that was Mario Soto back in 1983.

Trevor Bauer came to the Reds in a trade with Cleveland that saw Yasiel Puig going up north to the Indians. Bauer was only 2-5 after coming over to the Reds in 2019 but in 2020 he showed what the Reds and the entire league knew he was capable of.

2020 was a season that will be remembered for what happened off the field with the Coronavirus then what happened on the field but Bauer started the season red hot and but only finished the season a game above .500 (5-4) but he led the league in ERA with a 1.73 and had 100 strikeouts in 73 innings of work. He had two complete games. He helped the Reds advance to the postseason for the first time since 2012.

Trevor Bauer is now a free agent who will command a huge salary in 2021 and the question all Reds fans have is will the team be able to come up enough money to keep him from leaving the queen city? Most experts say there is no way the team can come up with the money needed to keep him.

2020 NL Cy Young

Trevor Bauer, Reds273201
Yu Darvish, Cubs3242123
Jacob deGrom, Mets323489
Dinelson Lamet, Padres520257
Max Fried, Braves4715
Corbin Burnes, Brewers11012
Aaron Nola, Phillies113
Devin Williams, Brewers33
Kyle Hendricks, Cubs22
Zac Gallen, Diamondbacks22
Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers22
Zack Wheeler, Phillies11